Book Review: Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Title: Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda
Author: Becky Albertalli
Published Date: April 7th 2015
Goodreads Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

 With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.
download

THE LOW-DOWN (1)
 I’ve seen this book a countless of times on my social media timeline, but decided to read it until the hype died down. Because I didn’t want to read this book just because of the hype, I was able to read it only this June, and I could definitely understand why this book is such a hype back then. Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda is really worth it.
To be honest, I wasn’t that inclined to read it at first and was not that hooked on the story until the middle part. Oreo menus, the  email conversations between Simon and Blue were what really got me hooked about this book, but at the same time I also like the minor characters especially Simon’s friends and family.  I really hope that there would be many parents and friends like Simon’s and Blue’s, because if there were I think coming-out wouldn’t be that scary and hard for some.
 
My favorite part was the identity reveal of  “Blue” (I guessed it right!! Yay!!) They are cute and really adorable. Although, I was a bit disappointed that there weren’t many “happenings” But nevertheless, I would recommend this book for someone who is looking a light queer read.
Rating:  I gave this book a 4 out of 5 stars because of their cuteness!! (Jk) Simon Vs the homo sapiens Agenda deserve all the love!! A funny and light novel you would really enjoy!
