Book Review: The Society by Jodie Anrefski

 

 

Title: The Society
Author: Jodie Anderfski
Goodreads Synopsis:
Welcome to Trinity Academy’s best-kept secret.

The Society.

You’ve been handpicked by the elite of the elite to become a member. But first you’ll have to prove your worth by making it through Hell Week.

Do you have what it takes?

It’s time to find out.

Samantha Evans knows she’d never get an invite to rush the Society—not after her dad went to jail for insider trading. But after years of relentless bullying at the hands of the Society’s queen bee, Jessica, she’s ready to take down Jessica and the Society one peg at a time from the inside out.

All it’ll take is a bit of computer hacking, a few fake invitations, some eager rushees…and Sam will get her revenge.

Let the games begin.

download


THE LOW-DOWN (1).jpg

AJ says: *** I have received an e-copy on Netgally via YA Book Bound Tours in exchange for an honest review***

This is my first book about the Author and at first I thought it was like some Gallagher Girls-is a secret society which being I a sucker for, but it turns out it is not which was a bit of a disappointment.

The Society is a YA Contemporary novel about bullying and howpoor main character, Sam plots her revenge to get even with her ex-best friend Jessica.

Personally, I am conflicted between liking and hating Sam. Has it not occurred to her that what she is about to do is something similar to what Jessica’s been doing to her? Also, I find her irritating making up excuses for herself.

I don’t know if I’m happy that her plan got a little out of hand, which burst her bubble and made her realize that she should stop. The only thing that I probably like about her is that she faced the consequences of her scheme head on.

AJ’s Rating: All in all, this book is a quick read and it was okay and I’m sure some of YA Contemporary readers might enjoy this. I gave this book a 2.5 out of 5 stars.


THE LOW-DOWN (2) Enter for a chance to win The Society Prize Pack, including a bookmark, The Society button, and The Society mug + $10 Amazon Gift Card (US) OR $25 Amazon Gift Card (INT)

