Book Review: The Dreamer by E.J. Mellow

The Dreamer (Dreamland #1)

 

 

 

 

Title: The Dreamer
Author: E.J. Mellow
Series: The Dreamland Series
Genre: Young Adult, New Adult, Fantasy

Goodreads Synopsis: It’s night. Always night. Dreams guard against the evil forged by nightmares. Infinite shooting stars illuminate a moonless sky. A city stands alone, surrounded by a darkened field. On its fringes, a man watches one star separate from the masses and fall. What survives the crash will unveil a secret centuries long hidden.

Molly hasn’t slept well since the night of her twenty-fourth birthday. Being struck by lightning might have something to do with it, but then again, her chicken did look a little undercooked at dinner. Whatever the culprit, her life quickly catapults from mundane to insane as, night after night, Molly is transported through her once dreamless sleep to a mysterious land illuminated by shooting stars.

There she meets the captivating but frustrating Dev, and together they discover Molly possesses a power coveted by his people—the ability to conjure almost anything she desires into existence. Seduced by the possibilities of this gift, Molly shifts her attention from waking life toward the man, the magic, and the world found in her dreams.
download

BUY LINKS:  Amazon | Book Depository


AJ says:  *** I was fortunate to receive an e-book from Sarah/four eyed owl publishing in exchange for an honest review. ***

I was stuck in a slump at the third week of March and up until this April that I’ve read this book. This book is like a fresh breath to me, I couldn’t and wouldn’t want to put it down because I was so hooked I even tried pulling an all nighter just because I couldn’t get enough of it.

The world building and the plot of the story is superbly unique and creative. Mellow has written it well you could clearly imagine what Terra Somnorioum looks like. (This place has definitely been added to my “fantasy places to visit”) And as for the plot, clearly, you didn’t predict that the side effect of being struck by lightning is turning into a kickass heroine of a Dreamland you could only visit when you’re asleep.

As for the characters, they are likeable has their own unique charisma you would love. Let’s start with Molly, I know we all have experienced having that “dream” that felt so real you’re starting to question yourself if that really happened or if it’s true or just fragment of your imagination. I like that she’s a bit relatable and realistic somehow. It’s also had a smooth sailing flow, I like that it wasn’t an immediate “world” dive, that she question things that were happening to her and didn’t just accept it as her reality.

Devlin, her dream boy (all puns intended) has this bad boy mysterious aura around him some fan girl like me, find swoon worthy. I like his and Molly’s dialogues, I like that Mellow managed to write it like as if you were there listening to their conversation.

And for Jared, he’s the typical close perfect type of boyfriend which I really find dreamy and I’m still waiting for “the catch”.

All in all, I loved this book that it was added already to my 2016-favorite-reads. And I am definitely looking forward into reading the remaining books of this series.

AJ’s rating: I gave this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars. Mellow, really did a great job writing this book, it’s an action packed, romance-ish, and relatable Young Adult/New Adult book you could ever dreamed of (puns intended)

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Dreamer by E.J. Mellow

Comments are closed.