Book Review: Earth’s End by Elise Kova

Earth's End Cover Only

 

 

 

 

Title: Earth’s End

Author: Elise Kova
Series: Air Awakens Series #3
Released date: February 11th 2016
Publisher: Silver Wing Press
Goodreads synopsis:

A woman awoken in air, a soldier forged by fire, a weapon risen from blood.

Vhalla Yarl has made it to the warfront in the North. Forged by blood and fire, she has steeled her heart for the final battle of the Solaris Empire’s conquest. The choices before Vhalla are no longer servitude or freedom, they are servitude or death. The stakes have never been higher as the Emperor maintains his iron grip on her fate, holding everything Vhalla still has left to lose in the balance.

BUY LINKS:
download

AJ SAYS: I was supposed to be reviewing for our midterm exam in accounting. But I am seriously fangirling over this series that I read this first (so I could read Water’s Wrath immediately) instead of reading my accounting books.

I am truly in love with this series, you can easily tell by how much I recommend it to a friend when they’re asking or not asking for a book recommendation. And I am always digging the Otaku-ness of the book cover of this series (they’re strikingly beautiful, it’s beyond perfect for me) I can’t wait for this series to be completed and have them displayed on my shelf.

It’s been months of torture and bombardment for Elise with questions of what and whys on twitter and then finally it has been released on February. Earth’s End picks up the ultimate cliffhanger which Fire Falling had left us all gasping for air last year (Though, I’m thankful for The Tales From The Front that gave me a heads up on what happened); And then drops us another one cliffhanger of the year. (Spoiler alert)

Elise really knows how to keep her readers hooked on this series. As the story continues to unfold and the characters progress individually, side stories and additional characters are being added that keeps the story more and more interesting and intense, though it has a tiny bit of a downfall which is just based on my/our (mine and my girlfriend’s ) opinion. We feel that because bunch of characters are being added, somehow it felt like the old ones were being left out. And I was expecting to see how they would grow in this story, though I really love the new characters especially Major Jax.

I love how Elise descriptively showed what’s happening at the war front without omitting the “ugly” part of the war itself, where children get caught in between the war, siege & starvation, blood shed ambushes and battles. I could now get a clearer vision on how the politics of the empire works.

As one of Vhaldrik shipper, I’m truly happy that there was a more Vhaldrik scene in this book. But I kind of still miss the dark and sharp tongued prince, because in this book you’d get to see the side of our dark prince that you haven’t seen, yet. This is actually where the romance is in its full bloom, though there’s still Emperor Solaris who’s all obsess with power and control. Relationship between our two prince were finally clearer, and I could now understand Baldair better.

**My girlfriend says: As a shipper of Larel and Vhalla I am still deeply saddened that Larel got killed off! Ugh ugh ugh. I keep hoping Larel would come back to the story but then she wouldn’t be of any use anymore. However, I still stand by as how I perceive her. I believe that she would have made the story more interesting and she is like the comic relief of the intensity Vhaldrik has. Idk but she was probably (and still is) one of Elise’s strong and well built character.

AJ’s rating: This series never fails to wow amaze me.  You guys should really start reading them, too!

Here are some quotes from the book that I like 🙂

     

 

