Book Review: Never Mind The Thigh Gap

Never Mind My Thigh Gap

Title: Never Mind My Thigh Gap
Author: Sarah Newton &  Miss Bronte Huskinson
Genre: Contemporary

Goodreads Synopsis: 

“One ordinary girl, one extraordinary moment” There are three things everyone notices about Alice. 1. Her super-hot rugby boyfriend. 2. Her sophisticated, totally gorgeous best friend. 3. Her very noticeable 38-inch long legs.

Alice is tall – just under six feet to be exact – but her self-esteem couldn’t be smaller. When her relationship starts wavering, Alice’s perfectly beautiful best friend somehow convinces her to join a modelling competition, “for a confidence boost.” But Alice is just a normal girl; she loves ice cream too much, has an unhealthy addiction to American TV and lusts after the elusive thigh gap. She can’t even walk in heels, let alone in a bikini, but she finds herself joining Runway Models anyway.

The finale is only a few months away.

Will Alice catwalk her way to self-confidence or fail, proving everyone right? People can surprise you.

download

****Disclaimer: I received an e-book in exchange for an honest book review so, rest assure that that doesn’t affect my review.****

AJ SAYS: It’s a contemporary book that’s what  made it more relatable, but honestly speaking, I somehow find the plot a bit overused already, teen angst, drama and all. Some scenes/part were a bit predictable, the characters weren’t easy to like as a matter of fact, it took me some time to actually like Alice, but I really like Maddie’s and Oscar’s personalities.

The story fell flat at first, or maybe I just find it a bit conventional that I was already anticipating what is to happen next or maybe I’m not just used to the writing style, that it really took me some time to stay reading it.

Anyhow, as soon as the “real” squad assembled the book pick up its pace, the character development was good and the next thing I know I’ve finished it already. I like how it end with a happy note and not leaving of hanging trails. The Authors have shown what become of each one of the characters and I like that.

AJ’s rating: If you’re looking for a confident booster book to read or a contemporary one this book might be the right one for you. I gave this book a 3 out of 5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Never Mind The Thigh Gap

Comments are closed.