Book Review: Lost by Donnielle Tyner

Lost (The Caelian Cycle #1)

Title: Lost
Author: Donnielle Tyner
Series: The Caelian Cycle #1
Published date: June 19th 2015
Goodreads Synopsis: During WW1, a meteorite crashed, releasing a mist that changed the DNA of all who were exposed. One hundred years has passed and society is divided between the Norms and the Caelians, whose changed DNA awakened dormant gifts, called Talents.

Sadie is over it!

She’s an orphan, her boyfriend was murdered, and she’s the only Caelian at St. Vincent’s without a Talent. Once she turns 18, there will be no place for her in the world. That is, until a chance encounter with Kian, a Caelian boy who makes her feel uncomfortable and alive at the same time.

Secrets of her past are uncovered and Sadie’s latent, rare Talent is exposed. With great power comes the hunters, hired by an egomaniac who wants to use Sadie’s power to establish Caelian dominance. On the run with Kian and her friends, Sadie will have to decide: hide or fight.

Will Sadie accept her new reality or will she stay lost?

 


AJ says: I really loved the concept of the book which is  how humans somehow got their DNA altered due the exposure from the meteorite that had crashed a hundred years ago.Which divided the human race into two divisions, the Norms and Caelian, who have awakened their dormant gifts or what is called Talents or I could just simplify it to super powers. And with that being said I could honestly say that this book holds a lot of promise because the plot is something that would intrigue and capture it’s readers.

The first few chapters are okay, but what got me hooked were the chapters close to the ending of the book. It was where I could feel the thrill and excitement for the story, but a total cliff-cite-meant hanger because it’s already the end of the book.  I am thrilled to see what development of Sadie’s character would have to offer.

And as for the other characters there are likable, and I personally love Sadie’s circle of friends. I also like the twins and  of course Mrs. LaMotte.

I don’t have anything against Kian(because, duh, Kian’s definitely my type when it’s comes to choosing a book boyfriend. Haha) And Sadie. I totally ship them, but, the romance between them somehow felt rushed. Yes, there’s the “chemistry” but it just felt like it happened all of a sudden. I was hoping I could see some development in the next book.

I would have given it a 5 star, but it felt like there’s something missing. It  just felt like it could have been better if the background have been explained clearly and not the scattered way that it is. Or maybe it would be explained in the sequel.

But nevertheless,  I liked the book and will definitely be continuing the series.

AJ’s rating: I liked the book so and I’ll give it a 3.5 out of 5 stars If you’re looking for a quick, easy and light read this book would work just fine for you.


download

