Book Review: Air Awakens by Elise Kova

Title: Air Awakens

Author: Elise Kova

Series: Air Awakens #1

Released date: August 27, 2015

Publisher: Silver Wing Press

Goodreads Synopsis: A library apprentice, a sorcerer prince, and an unbreakable magic bond…

The Solaris Empire is one conquest away from uniting the continent, and the rare elemental magic sleeping in seventeen-year-old library apprentice Vhalla Yarl could shift the tides of war.

Vhalla has always been taught to fear the Tower of Sorcerers, a mysterious magic society, and has been happy in her quiet world of books. But after she unknowingly saves the life of one of the most powerful sorcerers of them all—the Crown Prince Aldrik—she finds herself enticed into his world. Now she must decide her future: Embrace her sorcery and live the life she’s known, or eradicate her magic and remain as she’s always been. And with powerful forces lurking in the shadows, Vhalla’s indecision could cost her more than she ever imagined.

 

 

 

AJ says:  This debut novel by Elise Kova got me totally hooked and involved. It’s been a while since I have read a book that is so amazing it it made me fan girl this hard again and I love every second of it.

Let me start by saying how gorgeous the cover is. I am sure that if you’re an Otaku or a gamer, this book would definitely be included on your cover buy list. But even if you’re not, wouldn’t you find this cover a kick ass? Right? Right?

I always prefer reading books with first or second person’s point of view because I find it easy to relate to and it somehow feels more personal, it’s like the characters are just beside me and reading chapters of the book to me. Air Awakens is written with third person’s POV, which is the type of books that I rarely choose, but Elise has written this book so beautifully that you really could keep up with the story and leaving no room for complaints.

The world building and the plot have always been a critical part for every fantasy themed books for some may find it difficult to relate to or to understand because they may find it very unrealistic or the structure isn’t clearly elaborated. But you wouldn’t find any difficulties in understanding the world building and plot of this book because you could easily picture it in your head vividly without getting into any mess. It’s like a manga floating in your head as you read each chapter. I loved that the story is fast paced, but it’s not on a rush, you could savor every story in between.

This would be the book where you would find a kickass library apprentice, and what makes her more interesting is that she also happens to be a sorceress which she also doesn’t know at first. I like that she doesn’t know all the entirety of “magic” and how she is learning as the story progress, it actually feels like you’re joining her in a crash course in magic and its history with Prince Aldrik also being your mentor. I also happen to like that there’s romance in it, but it doesn’t entirely revolves around it, that it’s a slow paced blooming love story you would willingly wait for.

After reading this book you would definitely ask for your own Prince Aldrik or maybe Prince Baldair, but if you would ask me who I really like that would be Fritz, I find his character so refreshing. 😍😍😍

To cut the story short, I love every bit of this book it deserves all of the praise any book could receive. You definitely wouldn’t regret reading it. So, what are you waiting for? Read this book. NOW.

AJ’s rating: If it’s possible to give a 6 out of 5 stars I would definitely give it to this book, just because Air Awakens totally deserves it. Read this book. ASAP.

BUY LINKS

            

download


